More gross basement adventures…

1

October 6, 2012 by megmstephens

I don’t know what it is with the basement of Heartland House. Every time I write about the basement, it’s because something has gone horribly wrong and I have to suit up in protective gear to take care of it.

Remember a few weeks ago when I introduced you to some new friends? Well. I should have been smart enough to realize that was a sign. Instead I blissfully kept working away on the garage, and only vaguely wondered why the gross basement smell was getting a little stronger in the house every time I opened it up.

It turns out that raccoons don’t mind moldy old peanut butter on the plate of a live trap that someone *ahem* me *ahem* set out back in July. So a poor raccoon met the end of his life stuck in a live trap in the basement of Heartland House. Once again, I suited up in protective gear and headed into the basement to take care of a nasty job.

 

I feel terrible that the creature suffered in there. On the other hand, raccoons are huge pests in the city, and several of the neighbors have been glad that we’ve caught one of the few that have been lingering around on the street. I’m also glad that the house once again smells normal(ish) for an old house instead of like death. And the pressure washer came in handy last weekend for cleaning out the maggots stuck to the live trap:

 

Not that it will help… but let’s hope this is the last of the posts about gross basement adventures that I have to write, mmk?

One thought on “More gross basement adventures…

  1. Lola Leder says:

    UGH – lets hope this is the last of the basement horrors.

Comments are closed.

HH Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 613 other followers