Floor plans: Remix!

7

October 9, 2012 by megmstephens

After lots of thinking about this, I’ve finally come up with a plan that I like. I had to sacrifice some of my goals, but I think you will agree – the plan I came up with is pretty logical and flows smoothly.

Here is the existing floor plan of Heartland House:

Bedroom #3 gets the most changes in the new plan. I’ll cut the suspense and just show you the new layout:

I broke one goal, which was to leave exterior doors and windows in their current locations. But the gain from framing in a new back door in the jog in the wall is huge – Bedroom #3 can actually be a somewhat decent size (about 9′ by 12′-6″) and we will probably use it as an office/study anyway.

I did draw in some furniture, so you can see what it would look like in the dining room, which is in the middle of everything. And I decided it would be worthwhile to change the patio doors to a slider to save the floor space, and allow the dining room table to be more centered in the room.

My favorite part of this plan is the Mud Room/Laundry. I get to use the existing upper cabinets, and I also get to have a utility sink next to the washer! I also managed to get a small half-bath into the plan, so I can officially call Heartland House a 3 bedroom, 1.5 bath if/when it comes time to sell it. Under the window in the Mud Room I plan to either build in a bench or use a bench piece of furniture there. I like having a spot by the back door to take off shoes – but let’s be honest, really the bench will be a place to drop purse, backpack, computer bag, you name it….

Believe it or not, the kitchen is the exact same footprint of the old bathroom. Two walls have been taken down, but the eating counter is resting on the south wall of the old bathroom. It was a little too cramped for the refrigerator, so I carved out a nook from bedroom 3  facing the hallway (the dashed lines show where we have to demo the existing wall and make an opening). I hate having a refrigerator without a place next to it to set down a glass while you get ice, or pour the milk, so next to the refrigerator will be a small section of counter – maybe 24″ or 30″ wide. I really like the way this turned out, because now someone getting a drink from the refrigerator will not be in the way of the person cooking or doing the dishes in the main part of the kitchen. The only negative to this layout is that the refrigerator door opens into the walkway – but it is a 4′ wide path, so hopefully that will not be a big problem.

Moving the back door also allowed me to get the bathroom slightly more centrally located, without putting plumbing too far from the sewer line. I didn’t want the bathroom door to open directly onto the hall and dining room, so there is a doorway with a small vestibule before you get to the door to the bathroom. It was a perfect spot for a small pantry or linen closet, so that is a nice thing!

I have this idea for the bathtub. I want it to feel like it’s in another room, and to try to add a little bit of luxury to a small space. I also want to have a window high on the wall above the water spray to let light into the bathtub nook and bathroom. Here’s some pictures of other spaces that have the same feel that I want to achieve:

This one is pretty close to what I have in my head, except the window would be much higher on the wall (above the spray of water and peeping eyes).

This one is nice because of the wood paneling, and it shows what the tub nook would look like next to the sink area. But I don’t think I’m going to do wood in a bathroom – seems like a bad idea to me.

I really like the arch on the this one! And the window, but since ours will be a shower/tub combo I am going to put the window much higher on the wall.

Is it just me, or is this a little weird to have a bathroom in the bedroom? And what’s with the twin beds – did we go back in time to “I Love Lucy” days? Anyway, what I like about this one is the full tile all the way to the ceiling. And the curtains.

7 thoughts on “Floor plans: Remix!

  1. Lola Leder says:

    Looks like this should be on HG/TV – its going to be one tremendous renovation and worthy of a front page.

  2. Margie says:

    Just found your blog on the MMM site. We’re about to renovate our house too. I love how you’re going to recess the fridge. We’re looking into doing something very similar with our tub/shower combination too. We may buy a recessed shower curtain instead of a glass shower door to save some $. Have you seen those? I have one idea to enhance your mud room. Instead of a utility sink (which I would give anything for), you have the space there to add something like this: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/organized-mudrooms-166680
    or this: http://www.smithandvansant.com/getimage.pl?page=project-willeyhillcape&image=6
    Just a thought. Good luck!

  3. Margie says:

    It’s the 4th picture in the apartment therapy link I was referring to, not the one that popped up. The mini-shower for spraying boots. The second one would be great for washing dogs and spraying off muddy kids/boots, etc.

  4. Frances says:

    Nice! Having the fridge out of the kitchen will help with the always good idea of “Open the door once when you start cooking, to get everything out, then once when you finish cooking, to put everything away”.

  5. […] house, and it’s the room that shares a wall with the living room. If you refer back to the floor plan, the living room and bedroom #1 are the original structure. To add on the dining room and the rest […]

  6. Ben says:

    I like this new floor plan a lot. Having your kitchen closer to the dining/living area will be a lot nicer. I am going to have to find time to get up there and check everything out again and help out!

    • megmstephens says:

      It was great that you came the last time, Ben, and you are welcome back anytime! Although this weekend (Nov. 3 and 4) is the last one we have free to work on the house until after Thanksgiving. 😦 The change to the garage since June/July is pretty radical, isn’t it? I was just looking back through some pictures. I was feeling like we had not made very much progress, but looking through the pictures reminded me how far we have come.

Comments are closed.

HH Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 613 other followers