Prepping for a DIY vacation – Step 1 and 2 complete!

2

October 10, 2012 by megmstephens

 

Remember this room? Bedroom 3? Well, I’ve taken the next 2 days off work to completely destroy this room. It’s going back to the studs, baby.

I hope to also investigate the roof. And start the plumbing. And do about a hundred other things that there will never be enough hours in the day to actually finish. But it’s a start. Dan doesn’t have classes on Thursday, so he’s going to be around to help me out on Thursday, then I’m on my own on Friday, and I might put out a call to whoever is available this weekend for more hands. Today I made two initial steps to prepping for this big weekend of work: On my lunch hour from my day job, I made breakfast sandwich mix so that I can get up and eat breakfast and be ready to get to work early each day. I also called the local waste removal and ordered a dumpster, which they are delivering tomorrow!

Here’s a list of all the things I am going to attempt to work on over the next 4 days:

This is also part of bedroom 3…. needs some work.

1. Demolish bedroom 3 and get the waste into the dumpster.

2. Inspect the roof, figure out if it can be fixed or if it needs to be replaced, and then either A) fix it myself or B) get some quotes from pros if it needs to be replaced. Normally I would jump at a chance to DIY a roof, but it’s getting cold fast and I just don’t have enough hours available to go DIY on the roof. Plus if I start one weekend and don’t get it finished, there is a VERY good chance it will rain before the next weekend rolls around. But I digress…

3. Move the furnace into the basement, on a concrete block platform so it is ready to hook up.

4. Block/brick up the openings to the basement from the outside.

5. Build a trap door and ship’s ladder for future access into the basement.

6. Re-frame the floor of the bathroom/future kitchen with new joists and take out the old ones.

7. Salvage a tin ceiling from a house nearby, along with a few doors (This is so cool! And it’s a recent development. I’ll share more on this later)

8. Get started on the plumbing lines, both waste and supply lines.

9. Stack, organize, and store better the hardwood floor that is currently living in the living room instead of us.

10. Try not to kill myself, both from lack of sleep and/or power tools. [Just kidding, Mom!]

 

 

2 thoughts on “Prepping for a DIY vacation – Step 1 and 2 complete!

  1. […] my day job to work on Heartland House. A DIY vacation, kind of. As I mentioned yesterday, I had lots of stuff on my to-do list, including trying to get some plumbing started and figuring out the roof situation. Well, I might […]

  2. […] the entire week between Christmas and New Year’s off work. So it’s going to be another DIY Vacation for me! Hopefully I will keep the klutzy side of me hidden and not twist my ankle again. Thanks for […]

Comments are closed.

HH Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 613 other followers