Fast forward three years

May 9, 2016 by megmstephens

I can’t believe it’s been three years since I wrote on this blog. Lots has happened since then, and yet it feels like hardly any time has passed. A quick recap of life since the last few posts:

Dan and I moved to California. I worked (and still do work) for Tumbleweed Tiny House Company. After a year of working in the office full time, Dan graduated with his degree in Clinical Laboratory Science. I shifted from full time to presenting workshops for Tumbleweed.  We took an epic month long vacation across the US, hitting lots of national parks and having no idea where we would end up. Dan got his dream job working for a regional lab in Salt Lake City, so we moved there in August 2014. 

Since then, Heartland House has been sitting vacant. Occasionally a group of volunteers have come to work on it, since I offered the house to a non-profit group to finish after we moved. The non-profit  would be the partial future beneficiaries of the profits after Heartland House was finished and sold. It’s now 2016, and there has been some work on the house in our absence but much less than I had hoped. Initially the thought was for the house to be finished and put up for sale in the fall of 2014. 

We found ourselves in the position of being owners of a vacant property half the country away with no way to finish it but to go ourselves. Since Dan works full time, I was able to rearrange my schedule to clear out the month of May to come work on the house. I wasn’t sure what condition I would find it in when I got here, but surprisingly it was in decent shape. Let’s look at some current pictures: 






And yes, Squirrel came with me to keep me company!

HH Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 613 other followers